Care Certificate

249 videos, 11 hours and 4 minutes

Course Content

What is SOVA?

Video 103 of 249
1 min 33 sec
Want to watch this video? Sign up for the course or enter your email below to watch one free video.

Unlock This Video Now for FREE

This video is normally available to paying customers.
You may unlock this video for FREE. Enter your email address for instant access AND to receive ongoing updates and special discounts related to this topic.

The ProTrainings SOVA course is designed to raise your awareness of abuse towards vulnerable adults and develop your ability to effectively respond to suspected or actual incidents of abuse. 

 You will learn how to:

  • Identify different types of abuse
  • Consider some of the causes of abuse
  • Be more confident in reporting abuse
  • Consider issues of confidentiality and disclosure
  • Identify some of the indicators of abuse and understand the relevant legislation. 

 So what does SOVA stand for?  Safeguarding Of Vulnerable Adults, formally known as POVA.

SOVA was put in place to stamp out bad practice, the Government determined that vulnerable adults need the greatest protection possible from harm and should work to raise the standards of care through the National Minimum Standards. The main multi-agencies who work together to meet these standards, promote strategies, formulate reports and give support and guidance to everyone involved in the safeguarding of vulnerable adults are:

  • Care Standards 2000
  • CQC Care Quality Commission
  • Social Services and Adult Protection and the Police.
  • This can be extended to anyone providing support to a vulnerable adult.