Care Certificate

249 videos, 11 hours and 4 minutes

Course Content

Classifications of Dementia

Video 83 of 249
1 min 31 sec
Want to watch this video? Sign up for the course or enter your email below to watch one free video.

Unlock This Video Now for FREE

This video is normally available to paying customers.
You may unlock this video for FREE. Enter your email address for instant access AND to receive ongoing updates and special discounts related to this topic.

There are 4 classifications of Dementia which are as follows:

Cortical Dementia, this is where the brain damage mainly affects the brains cortex or outer layer, people with these types of dementia tend to experience problems with memory, understanding language and communicating.

Sub Cortical Dementias are where the parts of the brain below the cortex are affected. Symptoms can include problems with movement and memory and problems concentrating or making decisions.

Primary Dementia such as Alzheimer’s disease is where dementia is caused solely by one disease.

Secondary dementia is where dementia occurs from either a physical disease or from injury to the brain.

In some cases, people are diagnosed as having mixed dementia, this is when an individual is presenting changes that represent more than one type of dementia, the most common type of mixed dementia is where both Alzheimer’s disease and Vascular Dementia are present.

Dementia is a progressive condition, which means the symptoms will gradually get worse. This progression will vary from person to person and each person will experience dementia in a different way. Although the person will have some of the above symptoms, the degree to which they affect an individual will vary and not all people will have all of these symptoms.